This is where you can rest a while and discuss anything - doesn't have to be steel guitar related!
Post a reply

Got a Drone for Xmas

Sun Jan 14, 2024 12:34 pm

This will probably interest Malcolm as I know he has been into drones for some time.

Xmas 2022 I fancied getting a drone but my lovely wife poo pooed it and in retrospect I'm glad she did. Xmas 2023 she withdrew her poo poo and suggested I should get a drone. I had been originally looking at getting the DJI Mini 3 Pro but over the last year they have released the Mini 4 Pro which has a lot of improvements over the Mini 3 Pro including 360° obstacle avoidance, two new 10 bit colour recording formats, HLG and D-Log M amongst other new features.

The DJI mini series drones weigh in at under 250 grams which means you don't need a flyers license, (to get this you need to pass an online exam), it does still require you to register with the CAA as a drone operator but that is easy to do.

So, I am still learning to fly this thing, it is quite complicated as it has many options but I'm getting there. The gimbal which keeps the camera steady is exceptional and even when you do some fast moves it keeps the video steady. It can record up to 4k 60 fps and in slow motion mode at 4k 100 fps.

I bought the bundle which includes a controller with a built in screen, 3 drone batteries with a charging hub amongst other accessories. I also bought a set of ND filters which allow you to, amongst other functions, set the shutter speed to 60 frames per second, (when recording at 4k 30 fps), which is necessary to get motion blur making the recorded video more realistic. I also purchased DJI's insurance cover which allows for 4 replacement drones over 2 years at a low cost should the drone get damaged, it also has flyaway cover should the drone get lost, an example of this would be if it should end up sinking in the sea! The cost for a replacement under the flyaway cover is a bit more but still a fraction of the new cost.