Tuning

Steel guitar tuition and instruction material

Tuning

Postby Grotboy » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:58 am

Is it really necessary to depress the pedal when tuning? What will happen if I don't?
Why?
From this you will probably figure out that I am a novice steel player. I figure that if I ask enough questions the penny will finally drop
Thanks a lot
Grotboy
Grotboy

Re: Tuning

Postby henry » Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:59 pm

Do you mean tune with the a and b pedals down?
This is so your tuning takes into account any drop in pitch you might get from the action of pressing the pedals causing your neck to bend a little aka cabinet drop.

Far as I know you should aim to strike a compromise between a tuning that works with pedals up and down..
Marlen S10, Williams U12
Henry Senior - Pedal Steel Guitar
henry
Seasoned Member
Seasoned Member

Postby Graeme Jaye » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:07 am

As a complete novice myself, all I can add to the conversation is that I was instructed to tune my WBS with the keys on strings that were lowered (either pedals or knees) and with the nuts when in the relaxed position. Raised strings are tuned in the opposite manner - keys when relaxd, nuts when raised.
Graeme Jaye

Postby Zebedee » Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:44 am

See my tuning method here:

http://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopi ... &highlight

Note: It applies only to pedal steels with all-pull changers
ZeBedee aka the spring man
Zebedee
Seasoned Member
Seasoned Member

Postby Paul Brennan » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:10 pm