Pedal steel software

Steel guitar tuition and instruction material

Pedal steel software

Postby psg_software » Wed Nov 30, 2022 9:38 pm

I have been playing E9 for over 10 years, but have so far failed to dedicate my time to learning the neighbouring C neck.

As part of my final project in my computing degree I am designing a website that I hope will be a useful learning assistant* to myself and other players.

I have compiled a short survey to audit the current state of pedal steel software, and hopefully identify functionality that could really be of use. I already have an idea of what would be useful to me, but I would love to hear the thoughts of players with all levels of experience.

https://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/CAYT5G

*There is no substitute for time and effort when it comes to learning.
psg_software

Re: Pedal steel software

Postby JohnDavisStringsHere » Thu Dec 01, 2022 6:56 am

I have been happy to share the little I know about the back neck but when it gets turned into computer software does it not start to put real steel players out of a job?
There are more pc nerds out there than steel players.....
JohnDavisStringsHere
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member

Postby psg_software » Thu Dec 01, 2022 9:46 am

Hence my disclaimer at the end ;)

I am building the website primarily for myself. I have posted this message on the off-chance that there are others like me who also see value in a novel learning assistant.

Chord charts and self-help books already exist for other instruments. Basic chord charts and self-help books exist for the PSG. There are several PSG computer programs in existence. There is an obvious demand for these things.